Dr. Saihong Li


My diverse research interests fall broadly within the fields of Interpreting and Translation Studies, Lexicography and Second Language Acquisition. In the past three years I have built up a strong record in obtaining funding for research. I have been successful with applications to the British Academy, to the UCCL (University China Committee London), to the VC-early Career Scholarship at Salford, AHRC-HEA Symposia Funding, and to the Carlsberg Foundation (Denmark). From 1991 to 2010, I worked at Liaoning University, Dalian Maritime University, Beijing Foreign Studies University, the University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen Business School and the University of Salford. My experiences have straddled diverse cultures, languages and disciplines; they have informed both my theoretical reflections on language and practices in teaching. I am currently supervising four PhD students in Translation and Interpreting studies.

Dr. Anne Stokes


My research interests relate broadly to the fields of Translation, Intercultural Communication and Second Language Acquisition. As a former Director of English Language Teaching centres (at Strathclyde and Stirling), I am currently supervising PhD students in the TESOL area on projects relating to technology transfer and appropriate methodology. I hold a PhD in German Literature and a PhD in English Literature (comprising Creative Writing and Literary Translation). I have worked in Language Education and training relating to German and English as a Foreign Language since the early nineties. Additionally, I have worked on a freelance basis as a literary translator of fiction and non-fiction from German during this time.

The following teaching staff (in alphabetical order) are also involved in delivering the Translation studies and PhD supervision at Stirling. Please click the link to their website and feel free to get in touch:

Dr Aedin Ni­ Loingsigh

Dr. Alison Jasper

Dr Andrew Smith

Dr. Anne Stokes

Dr Antonio Sanchez

Dr. Bethan Benwell

Miss Binghua Chen

Dr Cristina Johnston

Dr. Colin Nicolson

Professor David Murphy

Dr Guillermo Olivera

Mr Jean-Michel DesJacques

Ms. Jie Bao

Mr Jose Ferreira-Cayuela

Ms. Katarzyna Jozwik

Dr. Rose France

Dr Sabine Dedenbach-Salazar

Dr Saihong Li

Mrs Yifei Hao

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s